The R O Willis Trophy was presented to the association by Mrs Willis, widow of Ollie Willis, in memory of her husband, who died in 1983. Ollie Willis was an active member of both the football and athletics' associations for many years. Well known in the area, Ollie was deputy headteacher at Lumley Junior School and, with headteacher, Mr Keith Garner and teacher, Mr Colin Friedrichsen, ran Lumley School football team for many years. He was also secretary of the primary association for a number of years and an enthusiastic supporter of all things linked to our association

Ollie was a class one referee and the association's records back in 1963 congratulated him on being given the honour of refereeing the Scotland v Wales Schoolboy International. He was also a cricket umpire for many years in the local leagues.

The competition has always been played late in the season and, even in the days of 11-a-Side inter-schools' football, was always a small-sided competition. Lately, Years 4 & 5 only are allowed to play.

 The photograph shows Ollie Willis (third from the right) receiving a presentation from Emmerson McMillan on the first Easter tour to Manchester in 1972

Ollie is far right on this photograph, also taken on our first district tour to Manchester. The presentation took place after playing Sale Boys. Receiving the pennant is Emmerson McMillan, who was association chairman at the time. Also in the photograph are Frank Johnson and Tom Baker.

Past Winners of the R O Willis Trophy

1984-85 Cestria 1985-86 Cestria 1986-87 Cestria
1987-88 Cestria 1988-89 Lumley 1989-90 Newker
1990-91 Pelton Roseberry 1991-92 Bullion Lane 1992-93 Lumley
1993-94 Red Rose 1994-95 Ouston 1995-96 Sacriston
1996-97 Birtley East 1997-98 C of E 1998-99 Pelton Community
1999-00 Finchale 2000-01 Ouston 2001-02 Red Rose
2002-03 Birtley St Jos. 2003-04 Roseberry 2004-05 Pelton Community
2005-06 Pelton Community 2006-07 Red Rose 2007-08 Woodlea
2008-09 Hetton Lyons 2009-10 Lumley 2010-11 St Margarets
2011-12 Hetton Lyons 2012-13 St Margarets 2013-14 Birtley St Jos
2014-15 Hetton Lyons 2015-16 Lumley 2016-17 St Margarets


R O Willis Cup 2017

Date: Thursday May 18th

 Pelton Co St Benets Newker
Pelton Co St Benets Newker
Hetton Lyons St Margarets Cestria
St Cuthberts Ouston Lumley
West Pelton Bournmoor Woodlea

Top two from the 5-team group and the winner of the 4-team group progress to the final on May 25th


R O Willis Final
Pelton Community
St Margarets
Hetton Lyons


R O Willis Final Pos.
St Margarets 1st
Ouston 2nd
Pelton Community 3rd
Lumley 4th
Hetton Lyons 5th