The ESFA small sided competition is played early in the season for a particular reason. The English Schools Football Association is the umbrella organisation which organises all competitions, both secondary and junior, in the country. There are five national primary competitions organised by ESFA as follows:

ESFA Under 11 Competition for Boys
ESFA Under 11 Competition for Girls
ESFA Under 11 Competition for Small Schools
ESFA Under 11 Competition for Association Teams

Our local competition has to be played early so that the winning team will represent Chester-le-Street in a county regional final and, hopefully, in the Durham county final. The winner of the Durham county final will then play in the North of England finals and the winner of that competition will play in the national final at Wembley.

Teams who been successful in past years in the Chester-le-Street Association are:

2005 Ouston North Regional Final: Girls
2006 Pelton Community North Regional Final: Boys
2007 Birtley St Josephs National Final: Small Schools
2008 Barley Mow North Regional Final: Small Schools


Past Chester-le-Street Winners of ESFA 7-a-Side


1983-84 Cestria 1984-85 Birtley St Josephs 1985-86 Birtley St Josephs
1986-87 St Cuthberts 1987-88 St Cuthberts 1988-89 Birtley St Josephs
1989-90 Red Rose 1990-91 Roseberry 1991-92 Roseberry
1992-93 Lumley 1993-94 Red Rose 1994-95 Ouston
1995-96 Red Rose 1996-97 Ouston 1997-98 Red Rose
1998-99 Woodlea 1999-00 C of E 2000-01 Bullion Lane
2001-02 Harlow Green 2002-03 Lumley 2003-04 Red Rose
2004-05 C of E 2005-06 Pelton Community 2006-07 Woodlea
2007-08 Red Rose 2008-09 Woodlea 2009-10 Hetton Lyons
2010-11 St Margarets 2011-12 St Margarets 2012-13 C of E
2013-14 St Margarets 2014-15 Ouston 2015-16 Hetton Lyons
2016-17 Lumley 2017-18 St Margarets    


ESFA 7 a Side 2017-18

ESFA 7 a Side 2017-18: Thursday September 14th

ESFA Final

at the Riverside



St Margarets 10


Red Rose 8


Woodlea 7


Ouston 5 4
Lumley 4


Cestria 3 6